An Introduction to Odin’s Thunderbolts

Hello and welcome to Odin’s Thunderbolts! This is my new blog. I hope you’ll like it.

 The motivation for creating Odin’s Thunderbolts comes from my recent struggles to find easily accessible and definitive guides to comic book reading orders. As a recent convert to the wonderful realm of comic books, I have found it surprisingly time-consuming to figure out which comic books should be read first.

 You see, I have come to realize that this has been an excellent decade for Marvel Comics (possibly DC, too, but more on that in a moment). I have also come to realize that I basically missed it. I was not an avid comic book reader until now, at the turn of the decade as I hit my early twenties. I now want to go back and consume everything that happened in the Marvel and DC universes. I want to kick off with Avengers: Disassembled and progress through the next six years of continuity without jumping around like a frustrated movie-goer with an over excitable, broken fast-forward/rewind button.

 I am all about continuity and over-arching timelines that intersect between entire comic book universes, so naturally I have little desire to read all sorts of comic books out of order. Would you watch The Spongebob Squarepants Movie out of order, in bits and pieces at a time? Of course not. You would not disgrace such an excellent film with that approach. So why any different with comics?

 And so begins Odin’s Thunderbolts, where I will attempt to share all I learn about the proper reading order of my favorite comic books. A few quick things you should know about my approach and intent:

  • I will largely focus on Marvel Comics, branching over to DC occasionally. Simply where my passions lie.

 

  • I will focus on Graphic Novel collections. I like reading connected storylines, in order, and in big chunks. If you are a diehard searching for continuity info down to specific pages in exact, single issues, this is NOT the blog for you.

 

  •  This blog is for the general enthusiast or newcomer to the world of comics. I am not pretending to have some deep, long running knowledge of Marvel or DC continuity. I am simply passionate and learning all the time.

 That is the basic purpose of Odin’s Thunderbolts. As you can learn in the About Section, I will also be writing comic book reviews, music reviews, and various pieces of fiction/opinions. If it suits you, I promise you can bypass all that self-indulgence and still find the relevant comic book reading order information you need.

 Hope OTB (as I will be calling Odin’s Thunderbolts when I am tired, lazy, or both) helps you out in some way! So be it!

,

  1. #1 by Mr WordPress on August 9, 2010 - 10:58 pm

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. #2 by Corrupter of Young Youth on September 4, 2010 - 8:18 am

    Let’s get drunk!

    Also, glad to know this is a beginner’s guide, because I would certainly qualify as a beginner if/when I choose to get into this.

    Let’s toilet-paper the government!

What Do You Think? Comment Here!

